Academic Impact Awards 2019 - The Winners!

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

The Students' Union, in partnership with Learning Enhancement & Development (LEaD) team hosted the annual Academic Impact Awards for this year in the 16th of May 2019. This award ceremony celebrates students and staff from our University community who have helped shape the academic experience at City, University of London.

We are delighted to announce that this year, we received more than 400 nominations submitted both by a large number of students and members of staff who took the initiative to share with us the valuable and impressive work that was done for the university across all schools.

The panel, which consisted of students and staff members from the Students’ Union and the LEaDs team then had the difficult job of deciding on the shortlisted candidates and award winners after reading through all the nominations.

The ceremony started with opening statements from Sir Paul Curran and was hosted by the Vice president of Education, Tuna Kunt. There were four award categories and 18 awards. Please read on to find out who was shortlisted for each category. This year we also had the Vice President of Education Awards which were awarded to winners of the VP education award competition.

The ended with closing remarks from the incoming Vice President of Education Saqlain Riaz followed by food and drinks in the Foyer. Members of staff and student enjoyed the event with many mentioning that it is a great way to celebrate the talent and work of people at City, University of London.

The Academic Impact Awards are sponsored by LEaD and we would like to thank them for their continued support in the delivery.

The Shortlist and Winners


Most Helpful Feedback

Paul Dunn - Winner

Julian Aguiar De Medeiros

Alison Nel


Leading in Equality

Dann Wilsher - Winner

Miriam Conway



Personal Tutor of the Year

Sanmeet Kaur-Dua - Winner

Michael Powner

Johanna Payton


Research Supervisor of the Year

Vanessa Gash - Winner

Andreas Fring

Cedric D'mello


Outstanding Support – Academic Staff

Allen Hirson - Winner

Agne Suziedelyte

Gemma Birkett


Outstanding Support – Non-Academic Staff

Nuno Esteves - Winner

Leon Cuthbertson

Rachel Fahy



Best Graduate Teaching Assistant

Abi Sowri - Winner

Mathias Hetzel


Most Innovative Teaching

Elena Novelli - Winner

Andres Perez Ruiz

Byung- Gak Son


Teaching Excellence Award


Patrick Goold - Winner

John Stanton

Natasha Pallan



Firat Yaman - Winner

Deborah Rafalin

Hetta Howes



Lucas Zambrzycki - Winner

Allen Hirson

Alison Coutts



Byung-Gak Son - Winner

Andrew Leung

Simone Santoni



Peter Popov - Winner

Roger Crouch

Cristina Gacek


Programme Representatives

Programme Representative of the Year Winners



Chenoah Bueckert



Shahnaz Maktabi



Sharmin Chowdhury



Lena Wang



Syed M Mohamman


VP Education Award

Julia Oprzondek

Yehudah Lebrett

Michalina Bijak

Aimira Imanova



No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.