UCU Strike - Student Information

 

Introduction

City Students’ Union continues to support UCU colleagues striking for better pensions, pay and working conditions. The referendum result from November 2019 and the recent motion passed at Student Members’ Meeting form our student mandate to provide ongoing support.  

We also understand that it has been and will be difficult for students. We aim to work with City University to minimise disruption, to ensure classes are rescheduled for programmes with external regulators, to ensure mitigations to assessments are made and academic and other support is ongoing. 

We advise you to check your emails regularly for communications from your programme teams or individual lecturers about class cancellations.  

 
Day Date Activity Description
Thur 20 Feb UCU strike day 1  
Fri 21 Feb

UCU strike day 2

11:30 - 12:00 | A student-led rally will take place on Northampton Square
Mon 24 Feb UCU strike day 3 14:00 | Teach-Out hosted at 3 Corners, EC1R 0HU
Tues 25 Feb UCU strike day 4 12:30 - 15:00 | Banner Making at Beer & Buns, EC2A 2AF
Weds 26 Feb UCU strike day 5

11:30 | Staff walk to Tavistock Square

12:00 | UCU London Region Rally at UUK, WC1H 9HQ

13:30 | Rally march to USS Headquarters

Mon 2 Mar UCU strike day 6 14:00 | Teach-Out at 3 Corners, EC1R 0HU
Tues 3 Mar UCU strike day 7  
Weds 4 Mar UCU strike day 8  
Thurs 5 Mar UCU strike day 9

International Women's Day themed activity 

14:00 | Teach-Out at 3 Corners, EC1R 0HU

Mon 9 Mar UCU strike day 10 14:00 | Teach-Out at 3 Corners, EC1R 0HU
Tues 10 Mar UCU strike day 11 12:00 - 12:30 | Student Climate Strike Teach-Out, location TBC
Weds 11 Mar UCU strike day 12  
Thurs 12 Mar UCU strike day 13  
Fri 13 Mar UCU strike day 14 13:00 | Student Climate Strike & Climate March 2020, location TBC 

 

 

Read more useful information by using our useful links below!