Awards 2023 the winners

Another year, another Awards ceremony!

This time last week, we welcomed over 200 people to the beautiful Shoreditch Town Hall, where we celebrated the best students and members of staff that City has to offer!

We kicked things off with an opening speech from our three Student Union Officers, Gesmina, Yavuz and Fortune before we started announcing this year’s winners. (see below)

"We are super proud of City students and cannot wait to see their future accomplishments. This is just the beginning" - SU Officers

For the first time ever, we also collaborated with Sports and in the especial Wolf Pack segment of the evening, we awarded sport societies and individuals who are making waves in their communities.

The night included a two-course meal with non-halal, halal, vegan and vegetarian options served up by Chop And Chip Co. There were also complimentary drinks (with non-alcoholic table options available as well) and a bar.

What a fantastic celebration, see you again next year!

Here are this year’s winners!


Society of the Year

Women in Law Society

Somali Society

Hindu Society - WINNER

Music Society

Committee Member of the Year

Sumaiya Abid, Afghanistan Society - WINNER

Atara Beserglik, Music Society

Devesh Kerai, Hindu Society

Sophia Debrah, African-Caribbean Society

Best New Society

CityReaders Society

City Venture Capital Society - WINNER

Saudi Society

Spooki Society

Most Improved Society

ESports Society

City Polish Society - WINNER

Italian Society

K-Wave Society

Event of the Year

Pro Bono Fair, Pro Bono Society

'Black Women in Law' Series, Women in Law Society - WINNER

Turkish-Syria Earthquake Collection, Turkish Society - HONOURABLE MENTION

'Alternatives to Law', Women in Law Society

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award

Women in Law Society

Afghanistan Society

Hannah Cuthel

Gabi Prefit - WINNER


Carrot Award Bronze - ALL WINNERS!

Sophia Debrah

Kiynat Ahmad

Tanya Shennan

Dr. Deborah Rafalin

Dr. Beth Guilding

Dimitri Andreou

Michael Henderson

Dr. Louise Phillips

Aiman Nasir

Ryan Ginger

Hannah Cuthel

Carrot Award Silver - ALL WINNERS

Neha Chauhan

Vic Duarte

Carrot Award Gold - ALL WINNERS

Gabi Prefit


Programme Rep of the Year:

Bayes Business School

Lilli Rosenthal

Aymeric Flottes De Pouzols - WINNER

Abdul Quadir Gaziani

City Law School

Helin Usal - WINNER

Lucas Kazman

Hafsa Abdullahi

School of Creativity and Communication

Elizabeth Kisova - WINNER

Shruti Pandey

School of Health and Psychological Sciences

Ancy Jude Jeyakumar

Thais Cardon

Elise Davies - WINNER

School of Policy and Global Affairs

Saffa Awan - WINNER

Egor Kachanovskiy

Arielle Vogel Valk

School of Science of Technology

Novak Bojovic

Harry Mugridge

Zhala Alizada - WINNER

Academic Impact Award:

Bayes Business School

Himi Agarwal - WINNER

Shrimohi Shah

Giang Do


City Law School

Qamar Shahrour

Sushant Agarwal

Masub Ali - WINNER

School of Creativity and Communication


School of Health and Psychological Sciences

Ancy Jude Jeyakumarn - WINNER

Ibtizaam Sharif

Rosemond Numah-Mensah

School of Policy and Global Affairs


School of Science of Technology

Lohith Shridhar Poojari

Emine Kyosey - WINNER

Shimon Jacobs

STAFF: Teaching Excellence Award

Bayes Business School

Alex Moss

Professor Sotiris Tsolacos

Professor David Blake - WINNER

City Law School

Nathan Hawley - WINNER

Pia Rebelo

Dr. Kyle Murray

School of Creativity and Communication

Dr. Edward Paleit

Dr. Carolina Matos WINNER

Dr. Minna Vuohelainen

School of Health and Psychological Sciences

Professor Rachael-Anne Knight

Dr. Louise Phillips

Dr. Nicholas Behn - WINNER

School of Policy and Global Affairs

Dr. Cecilia Rikap - WINNER

Dr. Lise Butler

School of Science of Technology

Dr. Sylwia Frankowska-Takhari

Dr. Lara Silvers

Professor Konstantinos Tsavdaridis - WINNER

STAFF: Outstanding Support (Professional Services and Non-Teaching Staff)

Louise Jennings - WINNER

Dimitri Andreou

Emma Allsopp

Raquel Marques

STAFF: Personal Tutor of the Year

Dr. Mariem Ben Silmane

Dr. Bernard Ohene-Botwe

Dr. Peter Campbell

Dr. Madeline Cruice - WINNER

STAFF: Research Supervisor of the Year

Dr. Kathleen Mulligan - WINNER

Dr. Shashi Harani

Professor Amit Nigam

Dr. Patrick Goold


Team of the Year

Men's Tennis

Club of the Year

Equestrian - WINNER


Rugby Union

Sports Person of the Year

Lucas Theodose, Futsal/Football

Simiriddhi Gupta, Badminton - WINNER

Ugonma Agwunobi, Netball

Service to Sport Award

Sade Walters, Cheerleading - WINNER

Ugonma Agwunobi, Netball

Kajathiri Kamalakumar, Netball

Team Player of the Year

Sofia Ispani-Gomes, Netball 2s

Kerry Spink, Women's Futsal - WINNER

Kaila Lusabia, Cheerleading

Captain of the Year

Arsenii Bilyi - WINNER

Club Colours - ALL WINNERS!

Ewan Murdoch from Hockey

Simriddhi Gupta from Badminton

Claudia Philip from Netball

Spencer Trewin from Hockey

Eleanor Anson from Netball

Jacob Hilde from Futsal

James McConnell from Football

Sofia Ispani-Gomes from Netball

Sade Walters from Cheerleading

Matteo Contarini from Footbal

Ugonma Agwunobi from Netball




More news

View All News